Progress Report Thursday

by ninivenable

Image

 

So I’m doing my first Progress Report Thursday- some weeks after the day I said I was going to do it. Not much has happened- I don’t even feel like blogging. But I do want to keep track of what I’m doing.

The last time I posted I said I’d have the first draft done by the end of April. I have no idea what I was smoking. The good news is that I did finish the first 50,000 words within a month, and hopefully I’ll be finished with the first and second draft (which is essentially just working on structure) by the end of the month.

But the word count keeps rising. Hopefully, those are a lot of “filler sentences” that can easily be deleted come the later drafts. But I said that about my last manuscript, and the final word count turned out to be at least 170,000 words. I feel this manuscript will be longer, when I’m really aiming for a word count of 80,000 – 95,000 words. Here’s hoping I’ll make it.

I think I’ll save the next PRT for the Thursday after I finish the first two drafts.

Ciao.

 

 

 

